Warner College establishes award in honor of Dean John Hayes

Dean John Hayes receives a ram statue from Provost and Executive Vice President Mary Pedersen and President Joyce McConnell to mark the occasion of the College establishing an award in his honor.

Each spring during NR Days, Warner College of Natural Resources gathers for its annual awards ceremony where the community celebrates the excellence of students, faculty and staff. In Spring 2022, the College was thrilled to return to celebrating this tradition in-person for the first time in over two years.  

This year’s event was particularly special because it would be the final time that exiting Dean John Hayes would oversee the proceedings. Hayes is set to retire from his position in early June. 

To honor Hayes, the Warner College Leadership established a new award to add to the suite of college awards given each year: The John P. Hayes Leadership Award. The announcement, which was a complete surprise to Hayes, was made at the awards reception by CSU President Joyce McConnell.   

McConnell cited Hayes’ significant achievements in leadership during his tenure as Dean and stated that Hayes has been a tremendous example of leading with grace and service during his time overseeing the College.   

This award will be given for the first time in 2023. All members of the College are eligible for nomination, whether they are a student, faculty member or staff member. This represents a reflection that leadership can be demonstrated in any position and level in the College’s community. Individuals who exemplify Hayes’ servant leadership style will be honored in the years to come as recipients of this award.  

To see all the award winners from this year and previous years, visit the College awards page. Congratulations to all who were honored in this year’s ceremony.